Indian Premier League Introduction

Foundation. Who is the founder of ipl

So, what is the Indian Premier league? This is the most attended cricket tournament in the world and is ranked sixth among all sports championships in the world. There are currently eight teams. Each of them plays the other twice in a round-robin system, playing one match at home and away. At the end of the round robin, the top four teams advance to the playoffs. The top two play against each other in the first qualifying match, the winner of which advances directly to the final, while the loser gets another chance by playing in the second qualifying game. The third and fourth placed teams play against each other, the winner of this match plays the loser in the first qualifying game. The winner of the second qualifying match advances to the final, where they face the winner of the first qualifying game in the final match, the winner of which becomes the champion of the Indian Premier League.

Foundation. Who is the founder of ipl?

In which year ipl started? Founded in 2008 by the Cricket Control Board of India on the initiative of Lalit Modi, who became the league’s first commissioner. The competition is held in April and May each year by eight teams representing Indian cities in the Twenty20 format. IPL is the most visited cricket in the world and in 2014, it ranked sixth in terms of average attendance among all sports leagues. With such popularity, it’s no surprise that gambling viewers are looking for the best IPL betting sites.


A team has to win 7 to 8 matches in order to finish or fourth, or anywhere between 14 and 16 points. Although teams want to finish in the top two, they also work to win 9 of their 14 league games so they have a chance to advance to the finals. With 16 points or more have a higher chance of qualifying. To move up to the top four on the points table and win the championship, the 10 franchises will face off twice during the tournament. The 10 clubs will play a total of 14 league games (7 at home and 7 away), for a total of 70 games, before the four playoff games. Five teams will be played by each other twice while the remaining four just once (2 only home and 2 only away). They were divided into two virtual groups according to the number of IPL Championships won by each team, followed by the number of Final matches they had participated in. The losing one from the first qualifier will get a second shot when it plays the victor of the match between the third and fourth-placed in the points standings in the eliminator.

Indian Premier League teams

It is annually contested by ten teams based out of seven Indian cities and three Indian states. The league was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007. Brijesh Patel is the incumbent chairman of IPL. Below you will find these teams:

Chennai Super KingsChennai, Tamil NaduM. S. Dhoni2008
Delhi CapitalsNew Delhi, DelhiRishabh Pant2008
Gujarat TitansAhmedabad, GujaratHardik Pandya2022
Lucknow SuperGiantsLucknow, Uttar PradeshKL Rahul2022
Mumbai IndiansMumbai, MaharashtraRohit Sharma2008
Rajasthan RoyalsJaipur, RajasthanSanju Samson2008
Royal Challengers BangaloreBangalore, KarnatakaFaf du Plessis2008

The first Indian Premier League tournament. Held over 44 days in 2008 and was one of the smaller-market franchises.

IPL season results

Here you will find information about the leagues for the last few years. And, also, the very first and most important in the history of cricket.

  • IPL 2022 Winner: Gujarat Titans. Tata IPL 2022 final match was played between Gujarat Titans vs Rajasthan Royals on 29th May 2022 and Titans won the match by 7 wickets. Jos Buttler became the most run-scorer in TATA IPL 2022. He scored 863 runs in 17 matches including 4 hundreds and 4 fifties. Jos has also won the most valued player award this season. They have played 14 matches and won 10 out of them, leading them to become the first team of 2022 to qualify for the playoffs;
  • IPL 2021 Winner: Chennai Super Kings. The Final of IPL 2021 was played between Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders and CSK won the match by 27 runs. The final match was hosted in Dubai and CSK beat KKR by 27 runs. With their victory in IPL 2021, Chennai Super Kings lifted their 4th IPL title. Harshal Patel from Royal Challengers Bangalore became the purple cap holder in this IPL with 32 wickets. Ruturaj Gaikwad has now become the youngest player to win the IPL orange cup;
  • IPL 2020 Winner: Mumbai Indians. This is the consecutive second time Mumbai Indians won the IPL title & and overall 5th time. The final match was played between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals. MI won this match by 5 wickets. Also won Paytm Fairplay Award this year;
  • IPL Winner 2008: Rajasthan Royals. Shane Warne led Rajasthan Royals to win the first edition of the IPL. A thoroughly well-balanced team with experienced batsmen like Shane Watson and Graeme Smith, an explosive batsman like Yusuf Pathan in the middle order, and a deceptive bowler like Sohail Tanvir were the backbone of the Rajasthan Royals in the first edition. Yusuf Pathan first took 3 crucial wickets with a run rate of less than a bowl and scored a quickfire 56 from 39.

The championships are watched by a huge number of those people for whom cricket is of great importance. Each league ends with a big celebration for every fan.

Indian Premier League news

And of course, the latest and most current events in the world of cricket. In particular interesting IPL news:

  • The TATA IPL 2023 Player Auction list is out with a total of 405 cricketers set to go under the hammer in Kochi on December 23rd, 2022. Initially, a total of 369 players were shortlisted by 10 teams from the initial list of 991;
  • The IPL Player Registration closed on 30th Nov 2022. A total of 991 players have signed up to be part of the TATA IPL 2023 Player Auction set to take place on 23rd December 2022 in Kochi. The list includes 185 capped, 786 uncapped and 20 players from Associate Nations.

This sport and its championships are followed by a huge number of people who support their teams and favorite players. Those who place bets also look forward to victories and cheer for their idols.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here